Me, Film & the Future

I don’t remember a specific turning point in my life that made me decide to do film. I didn’t watch a specific movie and the stars didn’t align in any way; in fact, many times in the recent few weeks I’ve doubted very much in my abilities to complete this course. It’s quite intimidating starting out in a new city, with new people, and a completely alien school where everyone seems to know more than you.

The Victorian College of the Arts has definitely taken me by surprise with the intensity of the course, large study load, and long contact hours. But I’ve also found, unlike the other courses I’ve done in the past, I am more inclined and, dare I say, excited about learning new things and challenging myself with this opportunity.

So far, the most important thing I’ve learnt is that the more mistakes we make, the more we learn; and I feel the need to constantly remind myself of this. It is somewhat comforting being surrounded by people who are passionate about the same things as I am. However in saying this, it’s always quite daunting being thrown into a classroom full of such a talented, unique, and diverse group of people.

I am eager to learn from our teachers, but I am more excited to learn from my peers. Mostly because we’re all in this together; but more importantly because we are, in essence, the future.

Leave a Reply

